Indian Himalayas

The Indian subcontinent is actually the Indian tectonic plate, and where it meets and pushes into the Eurasian plate gives rise to the Himalayas, and the world’s tallest peaks.  The area “south of the Himalayas that forms a peninsula, which extends into the Indian Ocean between the Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal” is referred to as the Indian subcontinent (New Oxford American Dictionary). Several countries meet at or straddle the Himalayas, including Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Xizang Zizhiqu (Tibet)/China, and just a few others.

The northern Indian states of Jammu & Kashmir (J&K), Himachal Pradesh (often referred to as H.P.) and Uttarakhand (where boarder crossing into Nepal is possible at Banbassa) all include Himalayan stretches. Sikkim and other states south and east of Nepal do as well.

Leave a Reply